Copper Beech Farm, Greenwich, CT
The Last Great Estate: Copper Beech Farm
With over 50 acres of direct waterfront property, and almost one mile of water frontage, Copper Beech Farm is unmatched among all the Greenwich Great Estates. The 1896 Victorian mansion has been both meticulously restored, highlighting original museum-quality appointments such as oak paneling, plaster friezes, and handsome fireplaces, and tastefully expanded for today's lifestyle. The property features acres of rolling lawns, spectacular walled gardens, a swimming pool with spa, two private beaches with a bath house, a grass tennis court, greenhouses, a carriage house with clock tower and its own private island. Simply put, Copper Beech Farm exceeds all expectations for a sophisticated country estate.
The origin of Copper Beech Farm, originally known as Kincraig, dates back to 1893 when John Hamilton Gourlie purchased the land on the Long Island Sound at the mouth of the Mianus River. Kincraig is a village located north of Kingussie and south of Aviemore in Highland, Scotland. It was then acquired by Harriet Lauder Greenway in 1905. Harriet’s father was George Lauder, the cofounder with Andrew Carnegie of the Carnegie Steel Company. Harriet’s husband, Dr. James Greenway, founded the Department of Health at Yale University. They expanded the house in 1912 and created the Neo-French Renaissance mansion that remains today. Kincraig was a spectacular setting for the Greenway’s many interests and activities. Horseback riding on the many trails, picnics on the beautiful beach and private island, tennis and sailing on their boats moored in the Long Island Sound. Gardening was a strong interest of Harriet’s and her famous formal gardens and the magnificent copper beech trees still grace the property today.
The 1,800-foot driveway with beautiful cobblestone gutters winds through woods and lawns to the entrance. Two remarkable stone towers bracket the front door and the upstairs balcony. The grand paneled entrance room and stairway rises three stories with a fireplace and goes front to back to the wonderful screened porch that opens to panoramic views of Long Island Sound. The main rooms have 12 foot ceilings, including the living room with a beautiful carved fireplace and French doors to the huge solarium with a coffered ceiling featuring plaster detailing and three exposures, the paneled library with a fireplace, a huge bow window of curved glass and bookcases, and the dining room with a fireplace, a plaster tracery ceiling and rich oak paneling.
The formal dining room adjoins the sun-filled kitchen with an enormous skylight, as well as the family room with a fireplace and a large bow window. A handsome staircase leads to the second floor master suite with a fireplace, two dressing rooms and two marble bathrooms. The other seven bedrooms span the second and third floor.
The stone carriage house complete with a clock tower has ample garage space for cars and farm equipment, plus the milking stalls from its original days, a large upstairs with lovely water views and there are magnificent greenhouses at the rear. The three bedroom stucco and shingle cottage at the gate has a charming porch.
Copper Beech Farm is replete with 75-foot-long heated pool with a spa, a grass tennis court, an octagonal bath house, a carriage house, an apple orchard, magnificent formal gardens, two greenhouses, and a gatehouse. The land is owned in two parcels. A portion of the property’s 50 plus acres, are designated under Connecticut’s Public Act 490, which encourages the preservation of farm, forest and open space land in the public interest.
Co-exclusive with Leslie McElwreath and Joseph Barbieri | Sotheby's International Realty, Greenwich Office
50.6 Acres lot
The Field Team Advantage consists of 22 experienced professionals, each with general market strength as well as a mastery of a specific area. Clients benefit from the knowledge and experience of the entire team.Contact Us